Scammy Twats
Posted by Internet Freak at 12:55 am in Random Mutterings

I have a few domains parked up at sedo, waiting on my brain to get into gear and do something with them .. anyway, I got this email a couple of days ago:

Hello,
what is the price you can accept for your domain?
Our company develops software in Oracle and Delphi. We work as contractors.
If you offer more domains for sale with good reselling potential please email us your list.
Looking forward to do business with you.
Regards,
Richard Norton
CEO
STL Consulting

I thought it sounded a bit dodgy, so replied with:

hiya
my spare domains have just been listed at sedo. If you want to make me an offer you are more than welcome.

I then got the following reply (please make sure you don’t wet yourself laffin!!):

I need to know the lowest price you can accept.
What is your price range: $5,000 or $10,000 or even higher?
Please send it to me via email as soon as possible.

I mean ffs, did you hear those alarm bells too ? so I did the only thing I could .. I decided to do a search at DP .. I thought if anyone knows anything about these people, then the peep over there will do!
What did I find ? .. They are a company who write to peeps with domains for sale and con them into buying an appraisal from THEIR sites ffs!!!

sooooo me being me, I had to reply:

I am not going to give you a price range I would accept, that would be just silliness on my part. Why don’t you do yourself a favour and get an appraisal (certificate), then you can make an informed offer. As i mentioned in my previous email, my domains are listed at Sedo.com, you are more than welcome to go there and make me an offer when you know what you want to pay. In the mean time, please stop wasting my time with unprofessional emails like these.

Did they stop emailing me ?? Did they hell !!
The reply:

But first of all, I need a proof that our price is fair. I hope you
understand the importance of this question.
Usually, people who are selling names or web sites, provide buyers with
appraisals. This is a common practice and I’m not going to change this rule
because it’s the best way to protect an investment.
I heard many appraisal companies often made inaccurate appraisals. So I
cannot accept appraisal from each and every site. I will only accept
appraisals from independent appraisal companies I know and trust.
Reading responses from experienced sellers I was impressed by one reply:
“Many Internet users are not smart enough and popular domain brokers are
using this fact to make money. They offer them cheap appraisal services. But
if their customers would have something in their heads they’d understand
experts could not make a professional research for $15-$20. These appraisals
are made by machines. Easy money for such appraisers as
http:// ADDRESS REMOVED .com and several other major brokers that offer cheap
auto-generated appraisals. In my eyes, all services under $60-$65 are not
manual and the results are generated by special scripts. I don’t trust
auto-generated appraisals.”
The same is true for xxxx and xxxx. Their services are not manual. They
are just collecting money using their well-known names.
Thank you for understanding. I’m looking forward to do business with you.

Yeah right, as if !! I had to put in another reply (well i wouldnt be me if i didnt lolol):

if you were to buy a house, then the onus is on the buyer to get relevant surveys etc done. if you want to get an appraisal on any of my sites and put in an offer then please do so. if you dont then please do not reply to this email. I have read all about your company and know all about your little scam to get people to buy appraisals from your companies. It isnt going to work with me.

Lets see if I get another reply back eh ? .. think they are gonna be a bit stupid if they do lol

It must be the ‘lets see if we can scam Erica’ week, I’ve had countless emails saying someone had died in Nigeria and they would like to offer me millions of pounds etc etc ..  and then I got a real life one the other day ..

the fone rang some chick asked for a mr or mrs xxxxxx, so I knew it was a cold caller (there aint no mr xxxxxx, unless she was after my 6yr old lol) so I said sorry she isnt in can I take a message .. she said was some travel company and would ring back another time.
When I got off the fone I put the name of the company into google (I’m not paranoid honest, just nosy lol) .. it took me to a forum with a write up about them .. turns out that when they ring you they tell you that you’ve won a holiday and that theres a meet on at a certain place for you to claim your prize … when you get there its a heavy sell time share presentation.
She rang back today hehehe
She said I’m calling because yourself or your partner has completed a survey after a holiday you have taken within the last 7 years, and you have been selected as a winner.
I cut in and said ..
before you go on, can I just tell you a few things (and I said them all nice and calmly, no shouting .. infact I was sickly sweet hahaha) this is exactly what I said to her and didnt give her chance to but in ….
“1 - I have only been in SY for 3 years.
2 - I have only had this phone number for 14 months.
3 - I am a single parent, have been for years and have not had a holiday for the last 12 years.
and 4 - The most important thing in my book, after your call the other day, I googled your company name and read about your time shares and I am not interested .. now do you still want to carry on with your script ?”
She said no, thank you for your time, goodbye

hahahahaha .. wonder what she said when she came off the fone .. bet she called me all the cocky twats under the sun lmao

Leave a Comment